When you’re in-between jobs or cases or investigations, check out Independent Group Inc. You should get a whole lot of brownie points for taking these guys down.
* * *
BACKSTORY:
I got the following unsolicited email the other day…
Good afternoon!
I am a Chief Manager of Department of employment in Independent Group Inc. My name is Michael Nunes.
We’ve studied your resume posted at Hotjobs.com and I’m glad to propose you a
FINANCIAL AGENT vacancy.
We are a large company founded and based in USA. Independent Group Inc deals mainly with financial services, like escrow services for buyers and sellers
(online auctions around the globe, closed commercial auctions where the number
of buyers is not large, well-known public online auctions).
This is a part-time position with a flexible schedule. You work only 1-2 hours a
day (5 days a week). We offer an opportunity to work from home. All communication will be online.
Job requirements: Internet access and e-mail.
There’s no entrance or any other fees. Our company covers all the fees related
to employment.
We appreciate the labor of our representatives and pay them properly. Salary
depends on your activity and qualification. We pay a min. of $1500, but if you
complete all the duties as assigned, your salary will grow up to about $3000.
If you are interested in our offer and would like to learn more, please send
your filled out form to Independent.group.job@gmail.com
We found your resume at www.hotjobs.com. This letter confirms, that your CV has been duly processed and your skills completely meet our requirements for
Financial Manager vacancy.
Thank You,
Michael Nunes
Independent Group Inc.
* * *
First off, I forgot I even had a resume on HotJobs anymore. But the idea of being able to add a few $$$ to my minimal old age pension check each month sort of turned me on so I send him the minimal info needed to get the phone call.
Instead of the phone call I got a nice long email with a whole bunch of addresses I could check out. All I needed was to read the first few paragraphs to realize that this was a real top drawer scam. FYI: check them out at any or all of the following addresses:
http://www.independent-group.cn/e/index.php?page=r_1
http://www.independent-group.cn/e/index.php?page=r_3 http://www.independent-group.cn/e/index.php?page=r_4
http://www.independent-group.cn/e/index.php?page=r_98
http://independent-group.cn/e/index.php?page=r_19
I’ll say one thing: they put a whole lotta bucks into the professional-looking site so they must be raking in enough worldwide to more than pay for it.
So…all you LE guys and gals out there, here’s a felony and a half. Sic ‘em!!!
June 10, 2008 at 10:24 pm |
This is a pretty dumb post. Exactly what evidence do you have that they are a scam?? All you did was post the links. How does that amount to a felony??
State facts buddy or else you’re just making baseless obversations!!
June 19, 2008 at 2:00 am |
Thanks for posting this. I got the same email from this person / company on June 16, 2008. It sounded fishy so I decided to do some research on the company. I searched Google and BBB.com, but had no luck in finding any info until today. So far, I’ve come across 3 total posts with the same situation… must admit that the job sounded tempting. lol. Thanks again.
June 21, 2008 at 1:31 am |
Hi,
I’m also get the fraud letter from Michael Nunes.
But his website change to http://www.independent-group.cc/e
Guys and gals beware of him !